#Happy Halloween everyone!

#Happy Halloween everyone!

By: Aung Lwin

#Happy Halloween everyone!

Today is exactly the end of the second week that we have been here in Missoula. A lot have been done during past fourteen days and already learned many new ideas issues around civil society development. Visiting many different NGOs in Missoula region gave a sense of the importance of non-profit sector in our society.

There are two highlights to be addressed for this week; one is trip to Salish and Kootenai Tribes and another is obviously Halloween. The trip to Tribes made me to think about the benefits of federalism and importance of inclusiveness. Most interesting part for me during this trip was a conversation with the head of Salish Kootenai College. She really gave the group a taste of independent education and the importance of putting Native American study in the curriculum. Discussion around issues like land, water, wildlife conservation is also one of the advances that we gained from the trip. Moreover, I really appreciate myself for getting a chance to visit the art gallery of the college at the end of the meetings. They even show photos and posters of the very recent and current issue like “No Dakota Assess Pipeline” protest. This is a huge issues happening in this Tribes and many Native Americans across the United States is now gathering together and asking the federal government to address this issue.

I have never experienced Halloween. I just notices some posts regarding it on Facebook made by some of my friends from Yangon last a few years ago. This year, I am here in the US on Halloween night. I visited to a Halloween party hosted by a Native American school in Missoula. It was fun for me seeing children wearing costumes. A traditional Indian dancing party was also amazing there. Luckily, I got a chance to chat with a retired teacher on the perception of American people on Halloween. She said it’s just for fun for many people. Plus, she also explained the origin of Halloween and the arrival of it to the US in 1950s. Jesse, my fellow coordinator took me to his friend families and I participated at “trick or treat” event with a group of children on the street. That’s was fun although it was raining and frozen cold.

Leave a Reply

