Rotary Club and an emotional appointment

Early morning October 9, 2014

From Missoula, written by Tran Thanh Thao, Director of Bancassurance Division, Baoviet Insurance Corporation of Vietnam

I am in the US just the right time to stay tuned to its vibrant political life as the Election Day of the United States of America will take place on November 2nd. Ballots at every level from national, state and local are held on that day to select its public officials. After careful preparation for months or even years, candidates from all parties are now in the final step to run for the election. A Rotary Club where leaders of the community, business and professional get together to address important issues to the community under its overall mission to provide service to others, promote integrity, enhance ethical standards, advance mutual understanding, goodwill and peace is a favorite and suitable place for political candidates to talk to public. The meeting of the Rotary Club of Missoula this week is scheduled to have the Democratic candidate for the U.S. House of Representative, John Lewis of Missoula, to come and deliver a speech about his campaign but in the last minutes due to some incidental reasons he couldn’t make it. His communication spokeswoman, however, did a great job to represent him and his candidature program focusing on key points as follows:
– Being a father of two young children, he cares about education and job training so that the future generation be equipped with the skilled capabilities they need to succeed. If he is luckily selected by the Montanans as the state’s only one member to the House out of 435 representatives (due to small population ranked 44th out of the 50 States, Montana is only offered 01 seat in the House despite its huge area ranked 4th in size), he would like to sit in the education committee.
– Much attention is to be paid on developing other energy for Montana in the long term for the benefits of environment and sustainability.
– Agriculture is to be fostered to take the advantage of Montana hence new young business in agriculture would receive support from the state in the form of loan, for instance.
– As for federal land sell-off, he opposes transferring land to state control for fear that would lead to selling off public lands in Montana. From my further reading on this, his Democratic approach is very much different from the Republican counterparts and it could be a critical point for both parties as access to public lands is always a big issue in Montana.
– Last but not least, he strongly insists on a clean platform to reform the Congress with one interesting point to extend the cooling-off period to 3 years to prevent candidates from starting or leading Super Pacs (a new kind of political action committee) right before declaring their candidacy for office.

I am not quite sure how persuasive his campaign is to the Rotary members as the Q&A later on was not accessible to me. Part of my total loss of understanding comes to their very low vocal range bass voice which is typical for the old but I guess the specific political language used, the depth inside of the matter questioned are what cause trouble for me. After all, what I value the most that the candidate, as mentioned clearly by his spokeswoman, would stand for the benefits of Montanans as first and foremost priority, would be willing to work with either Democrats and Republicans for the problems cared by the people to be solved. So the driver of the election is to choose Who has the best ideas for the State but not the best person him/herself, I guess. Our fellows group will be in Washing DC for the Professional Fellows Congress hosted by the U.S State Department on the election day and I am really looking forward to the result of candidate John Lewis’s race.

The Rotary Luncheon ended in a way which could not be nicer for me. An old man (who seemed to sit in the Board of Director of the Club as I saw other members greeting him with high prestige 🙂 came to talk to me when knowing that I am “Miss.Vietnam’ from my short introduction. I would like to explain that I chose to call myself “Miss.Vietnam” just because I think my name might mean nothing to the members but Vietnam may somehow standout and easy to remember and it worked! The man is a veteran in Vietnam war. After the war, he came back to Vietnam in 2003 and felt so happy to know how friendly and warmly Vietnamese people welcomed him – a person that was one time on the opposite side. He kept repeating the word HAPPY many times while shaking my hands so tightly. We – a Mr.Prestige and a Miss.Vietnam – at that moment become so closed as if we were friends for years. The warmth I felt in his hands, his fervent voice I heard and the sparkling stars in his eyes I saw, all happened to make me miss my pass-away grandfather so much. There is no doubt that our past, irrespective of the way people looked at, will be left behind for the two nations and its peoples to come closer for mutual understanding, better corporation and most importantly sharing the same good values.

P.S: from the picture taken I know my Mr.Prestige is Mr. Kurt F. Ingold and should you by chance read this blog post, I would like to say again and again that I was so glad to see you and how special you are to me!

Leave a Reply

